AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / Michigan / Hourly financial advisors in Michigan

Hourly financial advisors in Michigan

AdvisorCensus lists 352 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Michigan that report hourly charges among their Form ADV Item 5.E compensation arrangements, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Firms are listed alphabetically; sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below, and read the methodology block for how this page is derived.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built

352
investment advisory firms
126
fee-only firms
145
SEC-registered
207
state-registered
80 of 352 firms matchShowing 1 to 50
Fenton, MIState-registered investment adviser4squareria.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered11 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
East Lansing, MIState-registered investment adviseracefinancialadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered6 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
State-registered investment adviserametrinewealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Grosse Pointe, MISEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
State-registered investment adviserapepa-advisors.com
BanksBusinessesCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Lansing, MIState-registered investment adviserataraxis-wealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered2 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Troy, MISEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered16 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Grand Rapids, MISEC-registered investment adviserjaygreer.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered11 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Muskegon, MISEC-registered investment adviserbraeburnwealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Oscoda, MIState-registered investment adviserbrookwoodfinancialservices.com
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Novi, MISEC-registered investment adviserc2privatewealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Troy, MISEC-registered investment advisercarrera-capital-advisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Grand Rapids, MISEC-registered investment advisercentennialsec.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered11 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Williamston, MISEC-registered investment adviseraustinfinancial.us
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered20 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Ann Arbor, MISEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered14 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Southfield, MISEC-registered investment adviserromainfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered15 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Rochester, MISEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered8 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Plymouth, MISEC-registered investment advisercustom-wm.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Novi, MISEC-registered investment adviserdca401k.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Ann Arbor, MISEC-registered investment adviserdardenwealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Portage, MIState-registered investment adviserdocsacapital.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered30 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Grand Rapids, MIState-registered investment advisereastownfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Southfield, MISEC-registered investment adviserelewealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered6 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Grand Rapids, MISEC-registered investment adviserfacwealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered37 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Bloomfield Hills, MIState-registered investment adviserforsythiafinancial.com
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsHourlySubscription+1 more
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Bloomfield Hills, MISEC-registered investment advisergainplanners.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered11 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Troy, MIState-registered investment advisergwallc.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered14 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Grand Rapids, MISEC-registered investment advisergrandwealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered22 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Saginaw, MIState-registered investment advisergreatlakesretirementsolutions.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered13 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Spring Arbor, MISEC-registered investment adviserguidestreamfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered17 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Southfield, MISEC-registered investment adviserhantzgroup.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered10 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
Traverse City, MISEC-registered investment adviserhemmingwm.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Belmont, MISEC-registered investment adviserhnwealthadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered18 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Grand Rapids, MISEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered8 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Bloomfield Hills, MISEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Troy, MISEC-registered investment adviseristoadvisors.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Trenton, MISEC-registered investment adviserjfrfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered11 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
St. Joseph, MIState-registered investment adviserjrria.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered12 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Birmingham, MISEC-registered investment adviserlibertycapitalmi.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered33 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Holland, MISEC-registered investment adviserinvestwithlvz.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered20 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Lansing, MISEC-registered investment advisermanerwealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Sterling Heights, MIState-registered investment advisermangotreecapital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered14 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Troy, MISEC-registered investment advisermillercapital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered21 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Marshall, MISEC-registered investment advisermillerfinancialplanning.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsGovernments% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
State-registered investment advisermelissamyersgroup.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Midland, MIState-registered investment advisermyfinancial.coach
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered8 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Auburn Hills, MIState-registered investment advisernewviewfin.com
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers145
State-registered investment advisers207
Exempt reporting advisers0
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)126 (36%)
Percentage of assets309 (88%)
Hourly charges352 (100%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)12 (3%)
Fixed fees271 (77%)
Commissions8 (2%)
Performance-based fees8 (2%)
Other36 (10%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)0
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years118 (34%)
5 to 9 years91 (26%)
10 to 19 years86 (24%)
20 years or more57 (16%)
Not reported0 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million103 (29%)
$25 million to $100 million63 (18%)
$100 million to $500 million92 (26%)
$500 million to $1 billion27 (8%)
$1 billion to $5 billion20 (6%)
Over $5 billion7 (2%)
Not reported40 (11%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 352 firms on this page, 309 charge a percentage of assets, 352 charge hourly, 271 charge fixed fees, and 8 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 126 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

145 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 207 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 0 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

How many financial advisory firms are there in Michigan?

AdvisorCensus lists 783 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Michigan, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 308 SEC-registered, 418 state-registered, and 57 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in Michigan?

282 of the 783 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in Michigan offer financial planning?

498 of the 726 firms in Michigan that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in Michigan fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 282 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How the fee-model pages are derived

Form ADV has no fee-only box, so AdvisorCensus derives it from the filing. A firm appears on the fee-only page when it is paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). It appears on the flat-fee page when it checks fixed fees on Item 5.E, and on the hourly page when it checks hourly charges; the subscription box, which the form reserves for a newsletter or periodical, counts toward neither. A firm can appear on more than one page. These pages describe filed answers, not a fee-only attestation, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Hourly financial advisors in Michigan: 352 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mi/hourly