AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / California / San Diego, CA / Financial advisors for businesses in San Diego, CA

Financial advisors for businesses in San Diego, CA

AdvisorCensus lists 88 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the San Diego metro area that report businesses among their clients on Form ADV Item 5.D, from filings as of October 2026. Item 5.D asks each firm which types of clients it advises; reporting a client type means the firm serves it, not that it serves only that type. Firms are listed alphabetically; each firm's page lists its client types as filed.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built

88
investment advisory firms
28
fee-only firms
70
SEC-registered
18
state-registered
248,402
households earning $200k+
88 firmsShowing 1 to 50
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment adviseralphacore.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
Rancho Santa Fe, CASEC-registered investment adviserdivorcefinancialconsulting.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered24 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviseraaiadvisors.com
BusinessesBanksCharities% of assetsHourlyCommissions+1 more
Registered8 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assets
Registered14 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Carlsbad, CASEC-registered investment adviseraxxcesswealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered14 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviserazimuthassetmanagement.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsBusinessesHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed feePerformance fee
Registered41 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserbdlowder.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered40 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assets
Registered21 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment advisercastlecoastwealthllc.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered6 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
Private fundsBusinesses% of assetsPerformance fee
Registered15 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Lakeside, CASEC-registered investment advisercavuwealthmanagement.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Carlsbad, CAState-registered investment advisercenteredfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment advisercenturawealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviser
BanksBusinessesCharitiesHourlyOther
Registered7 years
Assets managedNot reported
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment advisercweil.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered33 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserclelland.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsOther clients% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered37 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment advisercoastedge.com
High-net-worth individualsBusinessesPrivate funds% of assetsFixed fee
Registered16 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Encinitas, CASEC-registered investment advisercoopercapgroup.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Carlsbad, CAState-registered investment advisercoronadoinvestmentadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assets
Registered10 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment advisercosmoswealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourly
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserdarcycapital.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Solana Beach, CASEC-registered investment adviserdmbrenner.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered6 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserdenaliadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsPerformance fee
Registered25 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Solana Beach, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered17 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed feePerformance fee
Registered40 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Rancho Santa Fe,, CASEC-registered investment adviseressentialp.com
High-net-worth individualsBusinessesOther advisers% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Rancho Santa Fe, CASEC-registered investment adviserqualitygrowth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assets
Registered30 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserfinancialsensewealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered40 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserfinec.us
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed feePerformance fee
Registered1 year
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviserfocusedmissionfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Carlsbad, CASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsGovernmentsPrivate funds% of assetsPerformance fee
Registered16 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserglobeflex.com
Private fundsGovernmentsRetirement plans% of assetsPerformance feeOther
Registered32 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment advisergradientcapital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered12 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviserhafniafin.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsOther advisers% of assets
Registered5 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviserhergescapital.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBanks% of assets
Registered9 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserheritagewealthusa.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsPrivate funds% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered4 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserifgsd.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+2 more
Registered22 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
Carlsbad, CASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsBusinessesPrivate funds% of assetsFixed feeCommissions+2 more
Registered16 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
La Jolla, CASEC-registered investment adviserjetwealthadvisors.com
IndividualsRetirement plansBusinesses% of assets
Registered0 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
San Diego, CAState-registered investment adviserkalocap.com
High-net-worth individualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsPerformance fee
Registered5 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
San Diego, CASEC-registered investment adviserkingswoodus.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion

Market overview

San Diego has 423 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the metro area as of October 2026: 182 SEC-registered, 162 state-registered, and 79 exempt reporting advisers. 132 of them meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test (paid only by client fees, with no sales-related compensation ties such as an employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent), and 146 report under $100 million in regulatory assets under management. The metro area has 1,171,278 households, 248,402 of them with income of $200,000 or more, or 587 such households for each firm (Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates).

RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers70
State-registered investment advisers18
Exempt reporting advisers0
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)28 (32%)
Percentage of assets86 (98%)
Hourly charges46 (52%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)0 (0%)
Fixed fees56 (64%)
Commissions3 (3%)
Performance-based fees19 (22%)
Other7 (8%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)0
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years22 (25%)
5 to 9 years26 (30%)
10 to 19 years21 (24%)
20 years or more19 (22%)
Not reported0 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million5 (6%)
$25 million to $100 million11 (13%)
$100 million to $500 million38 (43%)
$500 million to $1 billion12 (14%)
$1 billion to $5 billion11 (13%)
Over $5 billion9 (10%)
Not reported2 (2%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 88 firms on this page, 86 charge a percentage of assets, 46 charge hourly, 56 charge fixed fees, and 3 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 28 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

70 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 18 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 0 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

Which financial advisors in San Diego, CA work with businesses?

88 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the San Diego metro area report businesses among their clients on Form ADV Item 5.D, as of October 2026; this page lists them. Form ADV Item 5.D asks every registered adviser which types of clients it advises, with the number of each and the assets it manages for them; a firm appears here when it reports at least one.

How many financial advisory firms are there in San Diego, CA?

AdvisorCensus lists 423 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the San Diego metro area, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 182 SEC-registered, 162 state-registered, and 79 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in San Diego, CA?

132 of the 423 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in San Diego, CA offer financial planning?

241 of the 344 firms in San Diego, CA that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in San Diego, CA fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 132 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How this page is derived

Form ADV Item 5.D asks every registered adviser which types of clients it advises, with the number of each and the assets it manages for them; a firm appears here when it reports at least one.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Metro area: San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA (core-based statistical area 41740).

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Financial advisors for businesses in San Diego, CA: 88 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/ca/san-diego/for-businesses