AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / Tennessee / Fee-only financial advisors in Tennessee

Fee-only financial advisors in Tennessee (page 3 of 4)

AdvisorCensus lists 156 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Tennessee that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by client fees on Form ADV Item 5.E, with no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent, no brokerage, insurance, or real estate sales business or related company, and no referral fees from others, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Firms are listed alphabetically; sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below, and read the methodology block for how this page is derived.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built

156
investment advisory firms
156
fee-only firms
68
SEC-registered
88
state-registered
156 firmsShowing 101 to 150
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviserpreserverpartners.com
Private fundsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assets
Registered10 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered24 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
State-registered investment adviserprovidencesquared.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Knoxville, TNState-registered investment advisermyprovidentwealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsOther clients% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Brentwood, TNState-registered investment adviserquantscompete.com
Individuals% of assets
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assets
Registered1 year
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Memphis, TNState-registered investment adviserresilientam.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Knoxville, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Johnson City, TNSEC-registered investment adviserroancp.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Chattanooga, TNState-registered investment adviserrookswa.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviserrevolutionpartners.com
IndividualsRetirement plansHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
State-registered investment adviserruttererplanning.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Franklin, TNSEC-registered investment advisersavvyfi.co
IndividualsFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
State-registered investment adviserseffinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBanks% of assetsHourly
Registered8 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Nashville, TNSEC-registered investment advisershayneandjacobs.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered27 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Knoxville, TNState-registered investment adviserasymmetryobservations.com
High-net-worth individualsOther advisers% of assets
Registered14 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Franklin, TNState-registered investment adviserskelafinancial.com
% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Jackson, TNSEC-registered investment advisersouthernadvisor.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourly
Registered8 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Franklin, TNState-registered investment adviserstapletonam.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Chattanooga, TNState-registered investment adviserstonebridge-am.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered14 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Franklin, TNState-registered investment adviserstonepillarswm.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourly
Registered2 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Germantown, TNState-registered investment adviserstuddardfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered14 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment advisersummitassetmanagement.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourly
Registered27 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Chattanooga, TNState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourly
Registered14 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Franklin, TNState-registered investment advisertaylorfinmgmt.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assets
Registered11 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Memphis, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered30 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
State-registered investment advisertechfp.com
Individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Knoxville, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Chattanooga, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered13 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Memphis, TNState-registered investment advisertotalwealthpartners.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assets
Registered9 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Brentwood, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assets
Registered8 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Nashville, TNState-registered investment advisertrueequitywealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
State-registered investment adviser
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Nashville, TNState-registered investment adviserupholdings.com
High-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Johnson City, TNState-registered investment adviserplanwithvalor.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlySubscription
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Knoxville, TNSEC-registered investment adviser
% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Nashville, TNState-registered investment adviserwavewealthplanning.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers68
State-registered investment advisers88
Exempt reporting advisers0
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)156 (100%)
Percentage of assets149 (96%)
Hourly charges78 (50%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)1 (1%)
Fixed fees89 (57%)
Commissions0 (0%)
Performance-based fees0 (0%)
Other0 (0%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)0
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years62 (40%)
5 to 9 years29 (19%)
10 to 19 years33 (21%)
20 years or more32 (21%)
Not reported0 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million60 (38%)
$25 million to $100 million30 (19%)
$100 million to $500 million37 (24%)
$500 million to $1 billion10 (6%)
$1 billion to $5 billion15 (10%)
Over $5 billion0 (0%)
Not reported4 (3%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 156 firms on this page, 149 charge a percentage of assets, 78 charge hourly, 89 charge fixed fees, and 0 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 156 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

68 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 88 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 0 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

How many financial advisory firms are there in Tennessee?

AdvisorCensus lists 476 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Tennessee, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 235 SEC-registered, 191 state-registered, and 50 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in Tennessee?

156 of the 476 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in Tennessee offer financial planning?

284 of the 426 firms in Tennessee that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in Tennessee fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 156 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How the fee-model pages are derived

Form ADV has no fee-only box, so AdvisorCensus derives it from the filing. A firm appears on the fee-only page when it is paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). It appears on the flat-fee page when it checks fixed fees on Item 5.E, and on the hourly page when it checks hourly charges; the subscription box, which the form reserves for a newsletter or periodical, counts toward neither. A firm can appear on more than one page. These pages describe filed answers, not a fee-only attestation, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Fee-only financial advisors in Tennessee: 156 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/tn/fee-only/page/3