AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / South Carolina / Financial advisors in South Carolina

Financial advisors in South Carolina

AdvisorCensus lists 302 investment advisory firms with a principal office in South Carolina, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Metro areas in the state are listed first; firms are listed alphabetically, and you can sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below. Firms may request removal from the directory, so this count can differ from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built · Download CSV

302
investment advisory firms
126
fee-only firms
120
SEC-registered
170
state-registered

Metro areas in South Carolina

203 of 302 firms matchShowing 1 to 50
Mount Pleasant, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Columbia, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered28 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Greenville, SCState-registered investment adviseradvancedplanning.net
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered13 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Charleston, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed feeOther
Registered2 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Columbia, SCSEC-registered investment adviserallinvmgt.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Travelers Rest, SCState-registered investment adviseraltamontadv.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourly
Registered12 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Columbia, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered21 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Rock Hill, SCSEC-registered investment adviserandersongriggs.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assets
Registered1 year
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Mount Pleasant, SCSEC-registered investment adviserapollonfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Mount Pleasant, SCSEC-registered investment adviseradifo.net
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
Beaufort, SCSEC-registered investment adviserapricuswealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assets
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Mt. Pleasant, SCState-registered investment adviserascensionwealth.net
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered16 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Charleston, SCState-registered investment adviseratvantis.com
BanksBusinessesCharities% of assetsFixed feePerformance fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Fort Mill, SCSEC-registered investment adviserauranser.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assets
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Charleston, SCSEC-registered investment adviserballastrockpw.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsCommissions
Registered2 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Columbia, SCState-registered investment adviserbarbcofinancial.com
High-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Moncks Corner, SCState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourly
Registered23 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Greenville, SCSEC-registered investment advisergreenvillefinancialplanning.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Columbia, SCState-registered investment adviserblackhawkfinancialadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Charleston, SCSEC-registered investment adviserbluegranitecapital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsPrivate funds% of assets
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Rock Hill, SCSEC-registered investment adviserbnacpa.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered31 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Mount Pleasant, SCState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Lexington, SCState-registered investment adviserbrightworksfp.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered12 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Rock Hill, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered19 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Charleston, SCState-registered investment advisercalidrisfinancial.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsOther clients% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered1 year
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
State-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assets
Registered15 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Charleston, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Greenville, SCState-registered investment advisercapitalfocusinc.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered28 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Columbia, SCState-registered investment advisercapitalwealthgroupsc.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Myrtle Beach, SCSEC-registered investment advisercarolinawa.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourly
Registered6 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Mt Pleasant, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assets
Registered5 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Lake Wylie, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourly
Registered8 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Columbia, SCSEC-registered investment adviserccminc.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assets
Registered39 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Charleston, SCSEC-registered investment advisercharlestonfinancial.net
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Mount Pleasant, SCState-registered investment advisercharlestonwealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Simpsonville, SCState-registered investment adviserclocktowerprivatewealth.com
BanksBusinessesCharities% of assetsFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Myrtle Beach, SCState-registered investment advisercoastwealthgroup.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Johns Island, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Bluffton, SCSEC-registered investment advisercoastlinecw.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered0 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Sullivans Island, SCState-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourly
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Spartanburg, SCSEC-registered investment advisercolonialtrust.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered29 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
York, SCSEC-registered investment adviserconcordefinancialresources.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsOther clients% of assets
Registered8 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Greenville, SCState-registered investment advisercontinuum-wealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered17 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Mount Pleasant, SCState-registered investment adviserconvergentfg.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assets
Registered8 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Clover, SCSEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered12 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Rock Hill, SCSEC-registered investment adviserkingwealthpartners.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers120
State-registered investment advisers170
Exempt reporting advisers12
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)126 (43%)
Percentage of assets265 (91%)
Hourly charges129 (44%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)4 (1%)
Fixed fees155 (53%)
Commissions5 (2%)
Performance-based fees23 (8%)
Other35 (12%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)12
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years128 (42%)
5 to 9 years61 (20%)
10 to 19 years71 (24%)
20 years or more41 (14%)
Not reported1 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million100 (33%)
$25 million to $100 million55 (18%)
$100 million to $500 million79 (26%)
$500 million to $1 billion14 (5%)
$1 billion to $5 billion15 (5%)
Over $5 billion4 (1%)
Not reported35 (12%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 302 firms on this page, 265 charge a percentage of assets, 129 charge hourly, 155 charge fixed fees, and 5 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 126 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

120 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 170 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 12 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

How many financial advisory firms are there in South Carolina?

AdvisorCensus lists 302 investment advisory firms with a principal office in South Carolina, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 120 SEC-registered, 170 state-registered, and 12 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in South Carolina?

126 of the 302 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in South Carolina offer financial planning?

210 of the 290 firms in South Carolina that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in South Carolina fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 126 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How the fee-model pages are derived

Form ADV has no fee-only box, so AdvisorCensus derives it from the filing. A firm appears on the fee-only page when it is paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). It appears on the flat-fee page when it checks fixed fees on Item 5.E, and on the hourly page when it checks hourly charges; the subscription box, which the form reserves for a newsletter or periodical, counts toward neither. A firm can appear on more than one page. These pages describe filed answers, not a fee-only attestation, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Financial advisors in South Carolina: 302 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/sc