AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / Virginia / Fee-only financial advisors in Virginia

Fee-only financial advisors in Virginia

AdvisorCensus lists 332 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Virginia that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by client fees on Form ADV Item 5.E, with no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent, no brokerage, insurance, or real estate sales business or related company, and no referral fees from others, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Firms are listed alphabetically; sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below, and read the methodology block for how this page is derived.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built

332
investment advisory firms
332
fee-only firms
103
SEC-registered
229
state-registered
59 of 332 firms matchShowing 1 to 50
Charlottesville, VASEC-registered investment adviseranculbertson.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assets
Registered33 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
McLean, VASEC-registered investment adviseraegisvaluefund.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsMutual funds% of assets
Registered32 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
McLean, VASEC-registered investment adviseralexanderrandolph.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered35 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
McLean, VASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered23 years
Assets managedOver $5 billion
Alexandria, VASEC-registered investment adviseravenircorp.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assets
Registered38 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Falls Church, VASEC-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsFixed fee
Registered26 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
State-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered27 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Newport News, VAState-registered investment adviserbamrising.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assets
Registered20 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
State-registered investment adviser9simplesteps.com
IndividualsHourlyFixed fee
Registered21 years
Assets managedNot reported
Fairfax, VASEC-registered investment advisercampionam.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered20 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
State-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individuals% of assets
Registered21 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
State-registered investment adviserdunnadvisors.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered27 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Virginia Beach, VAState-registered investment adviseredgewaterasset.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered30 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Fairfax, VAState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered30 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered26 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Charlottesville, VASEC-registered investment adviserfieldsgottscho.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourly
Registered21 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Onancock, VAState-registered investment adviserjohnfiege.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered23 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
State-registered investment adviserhelmfinancialadvisors.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsHourlyFixed fee
Registered22 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Richmond, VASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered20 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
Reston, VAState-registered investment advisercalendly.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered21 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Reston, VASEC-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered23 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Virginia Beach, VASEC-registered investment adviserhundredfoldadvisors.com
Mutual funds% of assets
Registered22 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Richmond, VASEC-registered investment adviserhuntermichael.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered28 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
State-registered investment adviserintegrityinvestinginc.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered29 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
State-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assets
Registered26 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Charlottesville, VAState-registered investment adviser
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assets
Registered29 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
McLean, VASEC-registered investment adviserkeyami.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered22 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Charlottesville, VASEC-registered investment adviseremarotta.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered22 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Richmond, VASEC-registered investment advisermidatlantic-capital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered20 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment advisernetworthadvisoryservices.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourly
Registered23 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Henrico, VASEC-registered investment adviserredmondassetmanagement.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsCharities% of assets
Registered20 years
Assets managed$500 million to $1 billion
Reston, VASEC-registered investment advisersentinelwealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered24 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Blacksburg, VAState-registered investment adviserslagelinvest.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered25 years
Assets managed$25 million to $100 million
Roanoke, VASEC-registered investment advisertaylorfg.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered23 years
Assets managed$100 million to $500 million
Reston, VASEC-registered investment adviserburneyadvisorservices.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsRetirement plans% of assetsFixed fee
Registered52 years
Assets managed$1 billion to $5 billion
RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers103
State-registered investment advisers229
Exempt reporting advisers0
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)332 (100%)
Percentage of assets280 (84%)
Hourly charges175 (53%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)5 (2%)
Fixed fees201 (61%)
Commissions0 (0%)
Performance-based fees0 (0%)
Other0 (0%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)0
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years121 (36%)
5 to 9 years65 (20%)
10 to 19 years86 (26%)
20 years or more59 (18%)
Not reported1 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million115 (35%)
$25 million to $100 million76 (23%)
$100 million to $500 million65 (20%)
$500 million to $1 billion20 (6%)
$1 billion to $5 billion15 (5%)
Over $5 billion3 (1%)
Not reported38 (11%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 332 firms on this page, 280 charge a percentage of assets, 175 charge hourly, 201 charge fixed fees, and 0 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 332 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

103 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 229 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 0 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

How many financial advisory firms are there in Virginia?

AdvisorCensus lists 792 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Virginia, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 309 SEC-registered, 403 state-registered, and 80 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in Virginia?

332 of the 792 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in Virginia offer financial planning?

484 of the 712 firms in Virginia that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in Virginia fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 332 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How the fee-model pages are derived

Form ADV has no fee-only box, so AdvisorCensus derives it from the filing. A firm appears on the fee-only page when it is paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). It appears on the flat-fee page when it checks fixed fees on Item 5.E, and on the hourly page when it checks hourly charges; the subscription box, which the form reserves for a newsletter or periodical, counts toward neither. A firm can appear on more than one page. These pages describe filed answers, not a fee-only attestation, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Fee-only financial advisors in Virginia: 332 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/va/fee-only