AdvisorCensus by AdvisorSEO Max

AdvisorCensus / Financial advisors in the United States / District of Columbia / Washington, DC / Flat-fee financial advisors in Washington, DC

Flat-fee financial advisors in Washington, DC

AdvisorCensus lists 282 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the Washington metro area that report fixed fees among their Form ADV Item 5.E compensation arrangements, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Firms are listed alphabetically; sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below, and read the methodology block for how this page is derived.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026 · Rebuilt monthly · How this list is built

282
investment advisory firms
124
fee-only firms
147
SEC-registered
135
state-registered
673,453
households earning $200k+
46 of 282 firms matchShowing 1 to 46
South Riding, VAState-registered investment adviseraddeumfunds.com
IndividualsPrivate funds% of assetsHourlySubscription+3 more
Registered7 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Montclair, VAState-registered investment adviserblackdogwealth.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Frederick, MDState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Alexandria, VAState-registered investment adviserclearvuefinancial.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment advisercoretegiccapital.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Bowie, MDState-registered investment adviser
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered18 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Tysons, VAState-registered investment adviserdeafinvest.com
IndividualsPrivate fundsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered6 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Ashburn, VAState-registered investment advisercsuiteplanning.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsRetirement plans% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Washington, DCState-registered investment adviserdominionconsult.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsCharities% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered17 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Herndon, VAState-registered investment adviserdreamfinancialplanning.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Largo, MDState-registered investment advisererogerfinancial.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+2 more
Registered15 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered26 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
National Harbor, MDState-registered investment adviserfirstperspectivecapital.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Washington, DCState-registered investment adviserholisticplannersnetwork.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered12 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Alexandria, VAState-registered investment advisericonic-wealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered9 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Beltsville, MDState-registered investment adviserizuchifinancial.com
IndividualsBanksBusinessesFixed fee
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Shepherdstown, WVState-registered investment advisermissionadvice.com
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Washington, DCState-registered investment advisermountararatfinancialservices.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsHourlyFixed feeOther
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Falls Church, VAState-registered investment adviserneatfp.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Ashburn, VAState-registered investment advisernextplayfinancial.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered8 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
McLean, VAState-registered investment advisernoorvest.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinessesFixed feeOther
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Chantilly, VAState-registered investment adviseromsai.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Reston, VAState-registered investment adviseroriginwealthmanagement.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered1 year
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Chevy Chase, MDState-registered investment adviserpersonalpfp.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Laurel, MDState-registered investment adviserthepiedmontfcg.com
IndividualsBanksBusinesses% of assetsFixed fee
Registered5 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment adviserplandeavor.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Bethesda, MDState-registered investment adviserpoderwealth.com
High-net-worth individualsIndividualsBusinesses% of assetsFixed feeCommissions
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
North Bethesda, MDState-registered investment adviserpoiseinvestment.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Potomac Falls, VAState-registered investment adviseralignable.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Monrovia, MDState-registered investment adviseryouronlineanchor.com
IndividualsRetirement plansHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered18 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Gaithersburg, MDState-registered investment adviserserenefinancialsolutions.com
IndividualsHourlyFixed feeOther
Registered6 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Nokesville, VAState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Bethesda, MDState-registered investment advisersteeleyadvisory.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered7 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Alexandria, VAState-registered investment adviserstockplanadvisory.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsFixed feeOther
Registered5 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
North Bethesda, MDState-registered investment adviserterrafortcapital.com
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee+1 more
Registered4 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Garrisonville, VAState-registered investment adviserthefinancialt.org
Individuals% of assetsFixed fee
Registered0 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Silver Spring, MDState-registered investment adviser
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsSubscriptionFixed fee
Registered10 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Arlington, VAState-registered investment advisertitanrex.net
Individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered3 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million
Lanham, MDState-registered investment adviserygcwealth.com
IndividualsHigh-net-worth individuals% of assetsHourlyFixed fee
Registered2 years
Assets managedUnder $25 million

Market overview

Washington has 682 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the metro area as of October 2026: 320 SEC-registered, 218 state-registered, and 144 exempt reporting advisers. 192 of them meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test (paid only by client fees, with no sales-related compensation ties such as an employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent), and 185 report under $100 million in regulatory assets under management. The metro area has 2,373,022 households, 673,453 of them with income of $200,000 or more, or 987 such households for each firm (Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020–2024 5-year estimates).

RegistrationFirms
SEC-registered investment advisers147
State-registered investment advisers135
Exempt reporting advisers0
Compensation arrangements (Item 5.E)Firms
Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test)124 (44%)
Percentage of assets251 (89%)
Hourly charges190 (67%)
Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical)9 (3%)
Fixed fees282 (100%)
Commissions8 (3%)
Performance-based fees23 (8%)
Other33 (12%)
No compensation arrangements reported (exempt reporting advisers don't file Item 5.E)0
Years registeredFirms
Under 5 years93 (33%)
5 to 9 years67 (24%)
10 to 19 years69 (24%)
20 years or more53 (19%)
Not reported0 (0%)
Regulatory assets under managementFirms
Under $25 million60 (21%)
$25 million to $100 million53 (19%)
$100 million to $500 million81 (29%)
$500 million to $1 billion27 (10%)
$1 billion to $5 billion27 (10%)
Over $5 billion9 (3%)
Not reported25 (9%)

How to compare these firms

How the firm is paid

Form ADV Item 5.E lists every way a firm is paid for advice, and the "How paid" filter above lists each one. Of the 282 firms on this page, 251 charge a percentage of assets, 190 charge hourly, 282 charge fixed fees, and 8 list commissions. Commissions and other sales pay more often reach a firm through its people's broker-dealer registrations or insurance licenses, or through a related company, which Item 5.E doesn't cover; the 124 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test have none of these ties. Read the guide on fee-only, fee-based, and commission arrangements.

Fee-only, fee-based, and commissions

Who regulates the firm

147 firms here are registered with the SEC, which generally means at least $100 million in regulatory assets under management; 135 are registered with a state securities regulator, typical of smaller firms; 0 are exempt reporting advisers (private fund and venture advisers that file a shorter form and generally do not serve individual clients). The registration type says who examines the firm, not how good it is.

SEC and state registration

Disclosures

Every firm page shows how many of the Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes, with a link to the full record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. A yes can range from a decades-old matter at an affiliate to a recent regulatory action; read the record before drawing a conclusion.

Reading a firm's disclosures

Size and tenure

Regulatory assets under management and years registered describe scale and track length, not quality. A small firm may be a single planner who works with a few dozen households; a large one may be an institutional manager that does not take individual clients at all. The client types on each firm page (individuals, high-net-worth individuals, pension plans, and so on) say whom the firm actually serves.

What assets under management means

Questions people ask

How many financial advisory firms are there in Washington, DC?

AdvisorCensus lists 682 investment advisory firms with a principal office in the Washington metro area, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 320 SEC-registered, 218 state-registered, and 144 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

How many fee-only financial advisors are in Washington, DC?

192 of the 682 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

How many financial advisors in Washington, DC offer financial planning?

320 of the 538 firms in Washington, DC that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

Are the financial advisors in Washington, DC fiduciaries?

Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 192 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?

Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?

No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

What does regulatory assets under management mean?

Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

Related pages

Methodology

What Form ADV is

Form ADV is the registration form investment advisers file with the SEC or with state securities regulators, and update at least once a year. Part 1 reports the firm's identity, registration, ownership, clients, assets under management, compensation arrangements, advisory activities, and disciplinary disclosures. AdvisorCensus reads the SEC's monthly roster, the IAPD compilation feeds for state-registered advisers, and the SEC's filing data, and presents the answers as filed with the period they come from.

How firms are assigned to a metro area

A firm's principal office ZIP code is matched to a core-based statistical area with the HUD-USPS crosswalk, taking the area that holds most of the ZIP's business addresses. A ZIP the crosswalk doesn't carry, such as a PO box, is placed by the filed city and state when every ZIP of that city with the same first three digits falls in one area. Firms whose filing suppresses the office address (a private residence) are placed from the mailing address when one is filed. A state-registered firm that publishes no address appears on the page of the one state it is registered in, because a state-registered adviser registers with the state of its principal office; other firms that publish no address appear on the national index only. Firms in micropolitan areas and outside any statistical area appear on their state page. Metro pages cover the 387 metropolitan statistical areas in the 50 states and the District of Columbia (OMB Bulletin 23-01); Puerto Rico's six are not included.

How the fee-model pages are derived

Form ADV has no fee-only box, so AdvisorCensus derives it from the filing. A firm appears on the fee-only page when it is paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). It appears on the flat-fee page when it checks fixed fees on Item 5.E, and on the hourly page when it checks hourly charges; the subscription box, which the form reserves for a newsletter or periodical, counts toward neither. A firm can appear on more than one page. These pages describe filed answers, not a fee-only attestation, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

What AdvisorCensus does not do

AdvisorCensus does not verify, rate, review, rank, or recommend firms. Every figure is a filed figure with its period and a link to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site. Order on this page is alphabetical unless you choose another sort, and it never depends on whether a firm has claimed or paid for its page.

Metro area: Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV (core-based statistical area 47900).

Cite this page

AdvisorCensus. Flat-fee financial advisors in Washington, DC: 282 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/dc/washington/flat-fee