# Fee-only financial advisors in Montana

> AdvisorCensus lists 40 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Montana that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by client fees on Form ADV Item 5.E, with no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent, no brokerage, insurance, or real estate sales business or related company, and no referral fees from others, drawn from Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Firms are listed alphabetically; sort by years registered or assets band using the controls below, and read the methodology block for how this page is derived.

Source: Form ADV filings as of October 2026. Rebuilt monthly. HTML page: https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/fee-only

## At a glance

- Investment advisory firms: 40
- Registration: SEC-registered investment adviser: 8, State-registered investment adviser: 32
- How firms are compensated (Form ADV Item 5.E; shares of the firms that file it): Fee-only (AdvisorCensus test) 40 (100%); Percentage of assets 39 (98%); Hourly charges 21 (53%); Subscription fees (newsletter or periodical) 1 (3%); Fixed fees 18 (45%)
- Regulatory assets under management (Item 5.F): Under $25 million 18 (45%); $25 million to $100 million 13 (33%); $100 million to $500 million 6 (15%); $1 billion to $5 billion 2 (5%); Not reported 1 (3%)
- Years registered: Under 5 years 17 (43%); 5 to 9 years 9 (23%); 10 to 19 years 10 (25%); 20 years or more 4 (10%)

## Firms (page 1 of 1, 1 to 40 of 40, sorted by name)

| Firm | CRD | City | Registration | Assets band | Years registered | Compensation |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [406 PM](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/406-pm-339835) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/406-pm-339835.md)) | 339835 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 0 | % of assets |
| [Allied Investment Advisors LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/allied-investment-advisors-llc-billings-mt-159103) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/allied-investment-advisors-llc-billings-mt-159103.md)) | 159103 | Billings, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $1 billion to $5 billion | 12 | % of assets, Hourly, Subscription |
| [Arkell Asset Management, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/arkell-asset-management-llc-bozeman-mt-159418) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/arkell-asset-management-llc-bozeman-mt-159418.md)) | 159418 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 14 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Ascent Wealth Management](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/ascent-wealth-management-kalispell-mt-305915) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/ascent-wealth-management-kalispell-mt-305915.md)) | 305915 | Kalispell, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 6 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [BDL Wealth Management PLLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/bdl-wealth-management-pllc-billings-mt-330196) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/bdl-wealth-management-pllc-billings-mt-330196.md)) | 330196 | Billings, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 2 | % of assets |
| [Bibler Financial Group](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/bibler-financial-group-big-sky-mt-117520) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/bibler-financial-group-big-sky-mt-117520.md)) | 117520 | Big Sky, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 29 | % of assets |
| [Black CAT Wealth](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/black-cat-wealth-bozeman-mt-313381) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/black-cat-wealth-bozeman-mt-313381.md)) | 313381 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 1 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Budge, David M.](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/budge-david-m-147046) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/budge-david-m-147046.md)) | 147046 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 18 | % of assets |
| [CFD Investment Advisory LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cfd-investment-advisory-llc-billings-mt-342117) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cfd-investment-advisory-llc-billings-mt-342117.md)) | 342117 | Billings, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 0 | % of assets |
| [Cladis Investment Advisory LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cladis-investment-advisory-llc-billings-mt-153873) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cladis-investment-advisory-llc-billings-mt-153873.md)) | 153873 | Billings, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 4 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Clearstone Wealth Management, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/clearstone-wealth-management-llc-whitefish-mt-334088) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/clearstone-wealth-management-llc-whitefish-mt-334088.md)) | 334088 | Whitefish, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 1 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Cocreate Financial](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cocreate-financial-bozeman-mt-299648) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/cocreate-financial-bozeman-mt-299648.md)) | 299648 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 7 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Diamond Investment Management Services, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/diamond-investment-management-services-llc-164439) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/diamond-investment-management-services-llc-164439.md)) | 164439 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 14 | % of assets |
| [Eagle Spirit Investments Consulting, Inc.](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/eagle-spirit-investments-consulting-inc-lakeside-mt-156243) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/eagle-spirit-investments-consulting-inc-lakeside-mt-156243.md)) | 156243 | Lakeside, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 13 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [East Face LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/east-face-llc-337305) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/east-face-llc-337305.md)) | 337305 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 1 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Entrusted Wealth](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/entrusted-wealth-kalispell-mt-294185) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/entrusted-wealth-kalispell-mt-294185.md)) | 294185 | Kalispell, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 7 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Evergreen Summit Advisors, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/evergreen-summit-advisors-llc-342978) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/evergreen-summit-advisors-llc-342978.md)) | 342978 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 0 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Firetower Advisors](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/firetower-advisors-336549) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/firetower-advisors-336549.md)) | 336549 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 1 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Glacier Investment Management](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/glacier-investment-management-kalispell-mt-289129) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/glacier-investment-management-kalispell-mt-289129.md)) | 289129 | Kalispell, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 9 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Glacierwealth](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/glacierwealth-whitefish-mt-116372) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/glacierwealth-whitefish-mt-116372.md)) | 116372 | Whitefish, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 14 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Group W Investment Management LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/group-w-investment-management-llc-bozeman-mt-125215) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/group-w-investment-management-llc-bozeman-mt-125215.md)) | 125215 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 23 | % of assets |
| [H R Financial Services, Inc.](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/h-r-financial-services-inc-bigfork-mt-116733) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/h-r-financial-services-inc-bigfork-mt-116733.md)) | 116733 | Bigfork, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 28 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [High Country Stewardship](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/high-country-stewardship-bozeman-mt-344104) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/high-country-stewardship-bozeman-mt-344104.md)) | 344104 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 0 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Inukshuk Investments, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/inukshuk-investments-llc-missoula-mt-166556) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/inukshuk-investments-llc-missoula-mt-166556.md)) | 166556 | Missoula, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 13 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Larsen Financial Services](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/larsen-financial-services-geraldine-mt-153465) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/larsen-financial-services-geraldine-mt-153465.md)) | 153465 | Geraldine, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 15 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Main Line Retirement Advisors, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/main-line-retirement-advisors-llc-whitefish-mt-284780) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/main-line-retirement-advisors-llc-whitefish-mt-284780.md)) | 284780 | Whitefish, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 10 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [McCormick Financial Advisors, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/mccormick-financial-advisors-llc-289043) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/mccormick-financial-advisors-llc-289043.md)) | 289043 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 9 | % of assets |
| [Moneysense LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/moneysense-llc-missoula-mt-333307) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/moneysense-llc-missoula-mt-333307.md)) | 333307 | Missoula, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Not reported | 1 | Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Monteith Wealth](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/monteith-wealth-bozeman-mt-308179) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/monteith-wealth-bozeman-mt-308179.md)) | 308179 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 6 | % of assets |
| [Northfork Advisors](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/northfork-advisors-bozeman-mt-159781) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/northfork-advisors-bozeman-mt-159781.md)) | 159781 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 14 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [OFF the Beaten Path Financial](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/off-the-beaten-path-financial-323401) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/off-the-beaten-path-financial-323401.md)) | 323401 | Not reported, Not reported | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 3 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Pathfinder Planning and Investments](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/pathfinder-planning-and-investments-missoula-mt-159486) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/pathfinder-planning-and-investments-missoula-mt-159486.md)) | 159486 | Missoula, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 0 | % of assets, Hourly, Fixed fee |
| [Piedmont Capital Management, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/piedmont-capital-management-llc-whitefish-mt-165775) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/piedmont-capital-management-llc-whitefish-mt-165775.md)) | 165775 | Whitefish, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 5 | % of assets |
| [Portfolio Logix, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/portfolio-logix-llc-missoula-mt-305082) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/portfolio-logix-llc-missoula-mt-305082.md)) | 305082 | Missoula, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 6 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Professional Financial Management, Inc.](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/professional-financial-management-inc-bozeman-mt-118117) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/professional-financial-management-inc-bozeman-mt-118117.md)) | 118117 | Bozeman, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $100 million to $500 million | 1 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Springbrook Financial, LLC](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/springbrook-financial-llc-bozeman-mt-322443) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/springbrook-financial-llc-bozeman-mt-322443.md)) | 322443 | Bozeman, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 4 | % of assets, Fixed fee |
| [Springhill Wealth Management](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/springhill-wealth-management-bozeman-mt-342137) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/springhill-wealth-management-bozeman-mt-342137.md)) | 342137 | Bozeman, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 0 | % of assets |
| [Stack Financial Management Inc](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/stack-financial-management-inc-whitefish-mt-106785) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/stack-financial-management-inc-whitefish-mt-106785.md)) | 106785 | Whitefish, MT | SEC-registered investment adviser | $1 billion to $5 billion | 32 | % of assets |
| [Stapleton Financial Group](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/stapleton-financial-group-billings-mt-284716) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/stapleton-financial-group-billings-mt-284716.md)) | 284716 | Billings, MT | State-registered investment adviser | Under $25 million | 9 | % of assets, Hourly |
| [Wildrye Financial](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/wildrye-financial-bigfork-mt-317148) ([md](https://advisorcensus.com/firm/wildrye-financial-bigfork-mt-317148.md)) | 317148 | Bigfork, MT | State-registered investment adviser | $25 million to $100 million | 4 | % of assets |

## Questions people ask

**How many financial advisory firms are there in Montana?**
AdvisorCensus lists 87 investment advisory firms with a principal office in Montana, from Form ADV filings as of October 2026: 25 SEC-registered, 52 state-registered, and 10 exempt reporting advisers. Firms may request removal, so the count can differ slightly from the number of firms that file Form ADV.

**How many fee-only financial advisors are in Montana?**
40 of the 87 firms meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test: paid only by a percentage of assets, hourly charges, fixed fees, or subscription fees on Form ADV Item 5.E (no commissions, performance-based fees, or other compensation), with no sales-related compensation ties in the same filing: no employee registered with a broker-dealer or licensed as an insurance agent (Item 5.B), no brokerage, insurance, real estate, or other product sales business (Item 6.A), no related broker-dealer, insurance company, real estate broker, or futures commission merchant (Item 7.A), and no referral fees from others or other sales interest (Item 8). Form ADV has no fee-only box, so this is derived from the filing; it is not a fee-only certification, and a firm's own page lists its compensation arrangements as filed.

**How many financial advisors in Montana offer financial planning?**
53 of the 77 firms in Montana that answer Form ADV Item 5.G, which asks what advisory services a firm provides, report financial planning services, as of October 2026. Exempt reporting advisers do not answer Item 5.G. Each firm page lists every advisory service the firm reports.

**Are the financial advisors in Montana fiduciaries?**
Every firm on this page is an investment adviser that files Form ADV, and an investment adviser owes its clients a fiduciary duty under federal law, made up of a duty of care and a duty of loyalty: it must act in the client's best interest and not put its own interests ahead of the client's, and must eliminate its conflicts of interest or disclose them fully and fairly. Form ADV has no fiduciary box because the duty comes with being an investment adviser. The duty covers the firm's advice; a firm or its people may also sell securities through a broker-dealer or insurance as licensed agents, roles held to other standards. The 40 firms that meet AdvisorCensus's fee-only test report none of those sales ties.

**How do I check whether a financial advisor has disciplinary disclosures?**
Each firm page shows how many Form ADV Item 11 disciplinary questions the firm answered yes and links to the firm's record on the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site (adviserinfo.sec.gov), where the detail of each disclosure is public. Individual advisers' records are on the same site and on FINRA BrokerCheck.

**Does AdvisorCensus rate, verify, or recommend these firms?**
No. The directory shows what each firm filed, in alphabetical order unless you choose another sort, and no firm's position depends on payment. Firms that claim their page can add a description and links, marked as provided by the firm; the filed facts are never changed by that content.

**What does regulatory assets under management mean?**
Regulatory assets under management (RAUM) is the figure a firm reports on Form ADV Item 5.F: the securities portfolios it provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services for, at market value, including assets managed without discretion. It measures scale, not performance or quality.

## Related pages

- [Financial advisors in Montana](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt.md)
- [Flat-fee financial advisors in Montana](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/flat-fee) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/flat-fee.md)
- [Hourly financial advisors in Montana](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/hourly) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/hourly.md)
- [Fee-only financial advisors in Bozeman, MT](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/bozeman/fee-only) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/bozeman/fee-only.md)
- [Fee-only financial advisors in Billings, MT](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/billings/fee-only) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/billings/fee-only.md)
- [Fee-only financial advisors in Missoula, MT](https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/missoula/fee-only) (https://advisorcensus.com/advisors/mt/missoula/fee-only.md)

Cite as: AdvisorCensus. Fee-only financial advisors in Montana: 40 firms from Form ADV filings as of October 2026.
